Wish I was back in Goa!!!

Thats where I was, these last few days. When I tell people that Goa is my home town, the place where I was brought up, their reactions range from surprise to awe to open jealousy. People are often surprised that Goa actually has good schools and colleges and wonder if people actually study there. Now, that’s the ultimate stereotyping! I would put it right up there with the stereotypes that Western folks have about us Indians-  where we ride atop elephants on the roads and play with snakes.

Anyway, sorry for the digression. The point I was trying to make was that it was a busy last few days where I baked a lot, laughed a lot, traveled overnight by bus with a 3-year-old for the first time and lived to tell the tale 🙂

I was there to meet a dear friend, one who been my friend since we were about 3 years old and who has seen me through all the ups and downs of my student life. After she moved to the US, meetings became rare. Therefore whenever she is down, we tend to treat it as a grand reunion and make all efforts to meet up. Moreover, this time I was meeting her after 4 long years and seeing her child in person for the first time- so the event was even more special.

Of course, the meeting had to be preceded by tons of drama that’s how my life always is. But the point is, we met and had a good time. I had to bake something for her and so made an apple crumb cake and my favorite choco-chip brownies which turned out to be really yummy.

Will post the recipes soon, in the meanwhile, will leave you with the only picture I had of the entire trip – A sweet moment between the daughters of the two childhood friends. Hopefully, someday they too will form a friendship which will be as strong as ours is.

 

4 responses

  1. and those brownies were to die for .. saved them and saved them till I could :)… wish we lived nearby as before 🙂 but I’m glad we relived our memories on the short bike ride ..
    luv ya and get that recipe this way pls

  2. Preeti, after reading ur blog i thought i too met Swati! I wish i could really meet her. Its almost been ages i have met her and this was a chance i missed out! Love u swati and Ku!

  3. Pingback: Recipe – Apple Crumb Cake | A Foodie Blog

Leave a Reply

