Recipe- Povitica (Croatian Yeasted Bread) to celebrate World Bread Day!

It’s been a while since I baked something. Been busy with several things and then for some reason wasnt in the frame of mind to switch on the oven and bake something.

Then this came along. Its been a while since I baked bread and I thought I should join. When I checked facebook, the entire bakers gang was getting ready to celebrate the World Baker’s day. So I was pretty excited about contributing as well.

However, as they say, when fate is not on your side, nothing you do will work. Or something of that sort. Anyway the child fell sick last night and was home all day today. Moms will know what that means- a complete mess of the routine, no time to breathe, a cranky child and a messy home.

I was however, determined to bake bread. So bake I did. Been wanting to try this recipe for a long long time. Really admire Aparna and love her blog and all her recipes. Had some hazelnuts crying out aloud from the freezer for a long time now- so got an opportunity to use that up as well.

I pretty much followed her recipe to the ‘T’. Except that I forgot to add the chocolate chips, substituted half of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour and brushed the bread with coffee as per the original recipe.

Please check her blog for the recipe. I will leave you with my pictures.

The dough should preferably be so thin that you can almost see through it

Almost ready to go into the oven

Just out of the oven… forgot to keep a watch on it…. the top browned a bit more than required

The lovely whorled pattern when sliced. I forgot the choco chips, else the color of the filling would have been fantastic

Another look at it….

The verdict: It’s been half an hour since I cut slices and half of it has been┬ádevoured already. Was the daughter’s dinner and will probably be our breakfast- atleast whats left of it. The bread is just lovely. I think it’s a good thing I missed the chocolate chips- would have made it a tad too sweet for me.

 

Sending this for submission for the World Bread Day here

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Return to Blogging with Focaccia Caprese (We Knead to Bake #13) | A Foodie Blog

  2. Pingback: Return to Blogging with Focaccia Caprese | A Foodie Blog

Leave a Reply

